Course Information






 






 






 






 






 






 






 






 

 
these hidden items are needed for ajaxeditor and ajaxslider otherwise they only work if they are on the first page of the form
Cancel

Fall 2015

Eid al-Fitr (Eid-ul-Fitr) (first day of Shawwal)

Islamic July 18-20* Sat.-Mon

Krishna Janmashtami

Hindu Sept. 5 Saturday

Rosh Hashanah [New Year]

Jewish Sept. 13-15 Sun.-Tues.

Ganesh Chaturthi

Hindu Sept. 17 Thursday

Yom Kippur [Day of Atonement] 

Jewish Sept. 22-23 Tues.-Wed

Autumn Equinox (EDT)

  Sept. 23 Wednesday

Eid al-Adha

Islamic Sept. 24* Thursday

Sukkot [Feast of Tabernacles]

Jewish Sept.24-Oct.4 Sun. - Sun.

Shemini Atzeret & Simchat Torah

Jewish Oct. 4-6 Sun. - Tues.

Al-Hijra (Muharram) [New Year]

Islamic Oct. 14* Saturday

Durga Puja/ Navaratri

Hindu Oct. 18-23 Sun. - Fri.

Birth of the Báb

Bahá'i Oct. 20* Tuesday

Dussehra/ Dasera

Hindu Oct. 22 Thursday

Samhain-Beltane

Wicca/Pagan Oct. 31* Saturday

Ashura (10th day of Muharram)

Islamic Nov. 3* Tuesday

Diwali/ Deepavali

Hindu/Sikh/Jain Nov. 11 Wednesday

Birth of Bahá'u'lláh

Bahá'i Nov. 12* Thursday

Day of the Covenant

Bahá'i Nov. 26* Thursday

Ascension of 'Abdu'l-Bahá

Bahá'i Nov. 28* Saturday

Hanukkah (Chanukah) [8-day Feast]

Jewish Dec. 7-14* Wed.-Wed.

Bodhi Day (Rohatsu)

Buddhist Dec. 8 Monday

Winter Solstice (EST)

Wicca/Pagan Dec. 21* Monday

Christmas

Western Christian Dec. 25 Friday

Kwanzaa

Interfaith/ African-American Dec. 26-Jan.1

Sat.-Fri.

 

 

Spring 2016

Mawlid al Nabi

Islam Dec. 12 Monday

Nativity of Christ

Orthodox Christian Jan. 7 Wednesday

Maghi

Sikh Jan. 13 Wednesday

Tu B'Shevat

Jewish Jan. 24-25 Sun. - Mon.

Mahayana New Year

Buddhist Jan. 24* Sunday

Imbolc and Lughnassad

Wicca/ Pagan Feb. 2* Tuesday

Chinese New Year

Confucian/Daoist/Buddhist Feb. 8 Monday

Ash Wednesday

Western Christian Feb. 10 Wednesday

Vasant Panchami

Hindu Feb. 12 Friday

Nirvana Day

Buddhist Feb. 15 Sunday

Nineteen Day Fast

Baha’i Mar. 2-20* Wed. - Sun.

Equinox

Wicca/ Pagan Mar. 20* Sunday

Holy Week

Western Christian Mar. 20-26 Sunday - Sat.

Hindu New Year

Hindu Mar. 21 Monday

Naw Ruz

Baha’i Mar. 21* Monday

Magha Puja

Buddhist Mar. 23 Wednesday

Holi

Hindu/ Indian Mar. 23 Wednesday

Purim

Jewish Mar. 24* Thursday

Good Friday

Western Christian Mar. 25 Friday

Easter

Western Christian Mar. 27 Sunday

Rama Navami

Hindu April 15th Friday

First Day of Ridvan

Baha’i Apr. 21* Thursday

Pesach (Passover)

Jewish Apr.22-Apr.30 Friday- Sat.

Orthodox Holy Week/ Easter

Orthodox Christian Apr. 23-May 1 Saturday-Sun.

Beltane and Samhain

Wicca/ Pagan May 1* Friday

Lailat al Miraj

Islam May 3* Tuesday

Ascension of Jesus

Orthodox Christian May 5 Thursday

Yom HaShoah

Jewish May 5* Thursday

Yom Ha’Atzmaut

Jewish May 12* Thursday

Visakha Puja

Hindu May 15 Sunday

Pentecost

Orthodox Christian May 15 Sunday

Lag B’Omer

Jewish May 26* Thursday

Shavuot

Jewish June 11-13 Sat.-Monday

 

 

 

Summer 2016

Lailat al Bara’ah

Islamic May 21st* Friday-Sat.

Trinity Sunday

Western Christian May 22 Sunday

Corpus Christi

Catholic Christian May 26 Thursday

Ascension of Baha’u’llah

Baha’i May 29* Sunday

Sacred Heart of Jesus

Catholic Christian Jun. 3 Friday

Ramadan begins

Islamic June 6* Monday

Guru Arjan Dev Martyrdom

Sikh Jun. 16 Thursday

New Church Day

Swedenborgian Christian Jun. 19 Sunday

Summer Solstice

Wicca/Pagan June 21* Tuesday

All Saints

Orthodox Christian Jun. 26 Sunday

Saints Peter and Paul

Christian Jun. 29 Wednesday

Laylat al-Qadr

Islam July 2* Saturday

Eid al Fitr

Islam July 5-6* Tues.-Wed.

Martyrdom of the Bab

Baha’i July 9 Saturday

Saint Benedict Day

Christian July 11 Monday

Obon

Buddhist/ Shinto July 13-15 Wed.-Fri.

Tisha B’Av

Jewish July 14* Sunday

Saint Vladimir Day

Christian July 15 Friday

Asalha Puja Day

Buddhist July 19 Tuesday

Pioneer Day

Mormon Christian July 24 Sunday

Lammas

Christian Aug. 1 Monday

Fast in the Honor of the Holy Mother of Jesus

Orthodox Christian Aug. 1 Monday

Lughnasadh and Imbolc

Wicca/Pagan Aug. 1 Monday

Transfiguration of the Lord

Orthodox Christian Aug. 6 Saturday

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary

Catholic Christian Aug. 15 Monday

Raksha Bandhan

Hindu Aug. 18 Thursday

Beheading of John the Baptist

Christian Aug. 29 Monday

 

Sources:

http://www.state.nj.us/education/genfo/holidays1415.htm

Interfaith Calendar http://www.interfaithcalendar.org/

Huffington Post Religious Calendar http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/01/01/religious-holidays-2014_n_4512541.html